Email…. original to Mr Newman, Complaint 3

From: Angela Peters   Sent: Tuesday, January 25, 2011 5:41 PM  To: ‘BobFJ’

Subject: RE: Biased and misleading journalism on Radio National’s “The Science Show”

Thank you Mr Fernley-Jones.  I’ll pass on to Mr Newman.

Kind regards

Angela

From: ‘BobFJ’ Sent: Tuesday, 25 January 2011 5:40 PM
To: Angela Peters  Subject: Biased and misleading journalism on Radio National’s “The Science Show”

 [Some trivia deleted]

 For the Chairman of the Board:

 Dear Mr Newman,

I have made four separate subject complaints to “Audience and Consumer Affairs” (A & CA), of which three have been ruled invalid.  I find those rulings to be unacceptable, and will pursue them through other channels, but this is just background, and meanwhile:

My sole purpose here is to discuss one other complaint, that I laid on 25/Oct/2010.  Since then, the statutory period of 60 days for a ruling has been truly exceeded, despite timely confirmation of complaint receipt.  There have also been peripheral exchanges on it, including my Email to you, (cc A & CA), of 4 November.  That Email placed on record, as a consequence of A & CA commenting that they could not give any scientific analysis, that I was NOT seeking anything such from them, but recognition that the programme gave incomplete/ misrepresented/ biased facts.

A copy of that complaint is in the attached MS Word file.

Given that there has been no ruling from A & CA, it seems that they have been unable to challenge it, even after reportedly referring it to “The Science Unit“. 

Thus, what I would like to see are apologies for five errors, to be placed on The Science Show, in line with Editorial Policies:

 4.3.1 The ABC seeks to avoid errors. However, the ABC will not hesitate to admit and correct a significant error when it is established that one has been made.  When a correction is necessary, it will be made in an appropriate manner as soon as reasonably practicable.  [See also 7.4.2.b]

I am asking you, because I don’t see any procedure for doing this in Editorial Policies.

In the light of your address to ABC staff on 10/March/2010, I think that you may be shocked by what has (NOT) been happening since.  What I have touched on herein is but the tip of the iceberg, but I would be happy to supply much more detail, on this and other matters, if you ask.

For starters, you might be embarrassed by what has gone “virally” around the world blogosphere concerning your ABC.  (I am)

Yours sincerely,

Bob Fernley-Jones (professional engineer, retired, Melbourne)

About Bob Fernley-Jones

I'm a retired mechanical engineer, and I guess that because in my science, any bad assumptions can get people killed, I have an abhorrence of many things that are perpetrated by academics in some areas of science. In the case of so-called climate science, the culture and bias in some media is also repugnant to me. I'm hoping that the ABC will improve its self regulating policies and culture to eliminate bias, and this website is under development towards that end. (if necessary).

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

